BREWERY VISIT: MILKMAN BREWING

Remember when I made that list of places in Pittsburgh that I want to check out? I crossed one off the list already!

On Saturday afternoon, CFBF, Les, and I took a trip to the Strip District to do some taste testing at Milkman Brewing. We had an awesome time. I was impressed.

Like a lot of my favorite breweries out there, the location was a little sketchy. The taproom is located on the second floor of a building that looks pretty abandoned from the street level. But don’t worry, there are signs to direct you to the beer.

For a new(ish) brewery, there was a great turnout on Saturday afternoon – lots of people at the bar. And the brewer who was manning the samples and taps was so friendly and really fun to talk to. As I’m known to do, I tried THEM ALL. But there were only 4, so it wasn’t really anything to brag about.

Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 7.50.30 PM

My favorite was easily the Dahntahn Brahn – really flavorful and delicious. I enjoyed all the samples. In my opinion, the Peppermint Porter could have used more chocolate flavor to balance out the mint. I’m REALLY looking forward to the Samoa Stout that they’re currently working on. Chocolate, coconut, caramel, AND BEER!? Sign me up. I promised to be back for that one. The Double IPA and Irish Red Ale also sound like my style.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Milkman Brewing. The beers were really tasty. Only downside is that you can’t stay to enjoy a glass, growler fills only, but maybe one day. PA is a real pain about those licenses, I’ve heard.

Tell me, have you been to Milkman? What did you think?

(borrowed photos: 1/2)

One thought on “BREWERY VISIT: MILKMAN BREWING

Leave a comment