PITTSBURGH RESTAURANT WISHLIST

I like to keep a running list of local restaurants that I want to check out, so when the occasion comes up and I’m making plans to go out I can cross some places off of my wish list. I’m constantly changing what’s on this list, adding and removing. And my picks come from all over the place – recommendations, online reviews, Yelp photos. I’m pretty obsessed with looking at food photos on Yelp before I eat somewhere. I promise, you learn a lot about the best thing to order by flipping through those pictures. Check it out.

So here’s what sounds good to me at the moment. I’ll follow up when I make it to any of these places to let you know what I think. You know, because I love talking food.

STREET FOOD: LUCY’S, Strip District

  • Been wanting to try an authentic Bahn Mi sandwich for a while. Read some good things on the web about this place. Now on my list for a Saturday afternoon lunch stop.

JAPANESE: TEPPANYAKI KYOTO, Highland Park

  • I know NOTHING about Japanese food. But I have a couple friends who recommended this place. So it warranted a spot on my list. Probably a date night pick.

CHARCUTERIE: CURE, Lawrenceville

  • If I could drink beer and eat a good meat/cheese/pickled veggie board for lunch every day with no consequences, I think I could die happy. Not interested in this place for dinner. Just a drink and that salumi plate.

PIZZA: BREAD AND SALT, (Coming Soon to) Bloomfield

  • Not open yet, but you better believe I’ll be there when it is. Pizza lover, big time.

CHARCUTERIE + PIZZA: SIENNA MERCATO’S MEZZO, Downtown

  • Um, YES! Meat board + pizza!?!? Why do I even have other places on this list? I’ve visited Emporio (the meatball place) on the first level of this restaurant and LOVED it. Also had a drink on the rooftop at Il Tetto – good beers, cool setting. So I’m really excited to check out the middle level.

DONUTS: GRANDVIEW BAKERY, Mt. Washington

  • This place is HIGH on my list for Donut Friday. Look. at. those. Beautiful.

BEER: MILKMAN BREWING, Strip District

  • Brewery I haven’t tried. Enough said.

TACOS: TAKO, (Coming Soon to) Downtown

  • “Globally inspired tacos” from the same guys who do Butcher & the Rye and Meat & Potatoes. Sounds promising.

Now talk to me! What’s on your list? What needs to be on mine? Try anything new and awesome lately?

(photos: 1/2/3/4/5/6/7)

7 thoughts on “PITTSBURGH RESTAURANT WISHLIST

  1. Pingback: BREWERY VISIT: MILKMAN BREWING | CFGF, the blog

  2. Pingback: GRANDVIEW BAKERY & TEPPANYAKI KYOTO | CFGF, the blog

Leave a Reply

