OCTOBER GOAL CHECK-IN

October is over.

IMG_2811

In case you missed it, my goal for the month was: consistent work on olympic lifts. And if you know me, you better believe that I followed through. I got my butt to open gym every Sunday morning to get some help from my main man CFBF and become a better Olympic lifter. And just like I wanted to do, by the end of the month I hit new PRs in both the snatch and clean & jerk. Holla!

Snatch: 65# beginning 1RM -> 75# ending 1RM

Clean & Jerk: 105# beginning 1RM -> #110 ending 1RM

Let me tell you, that 75# snatch was U-G-L-Y. It was a power snatch – I have a lot of trouble finding my balance with the bar overhead in a squat. I also still really, really lack confidence with snatches, so it was NOT easy. But DAMMIT, I was so proud of that.

The C&J is a lot more fun for me. I have way fewer issues with my form and 100x more confidence with that lift. Makes it a lot better. I knew 110# wasn’t far off when I started, but still lovin’ it.

Clean

I didn’t realize it at the beginning of the month, but I could have called this goal “consistent work on olympic lifts and learning how to keep my cool and not lose my shit over the barbell.” You wouldn’t believe how mental olympic weightlifting is. I’ve always known that I have off days and I tend to miss a lift when I get nervous about it and it gets in my head. But my mental strength was TESTED during these sessions. I tried to go up in weight too fast, failed a ton of snatches, threw the bar, kicked the ground, and cried at the gym. Honestly, there were tears. Who am I!?

Failed Jerk

While my confidence has definitely improved over the past four weeks, I still have a loooong way to go. I can NOT be afraid of that GD bar anymore. That will hold me back more than anything. I know that I’m strong enough to lift heavier than 75# and 110#, but I’m still real nervous. That shit is scary!

So now what? I’d like to at least maintain some consistency with both snatches and C&Js even though my weekly Sunday morning FatStrong workouts are over. I really don’t want to lose the progress I’ve made. So who knows, maybe I’ll still work on them on some more Sunday mornings in the future, when I feel like I’m not getting enough consistency in the weekly Crossfit group classes. I won’t rule it out. It’s been fun.

2 thoughts on “OCTOBER GOAL CHECK-IN

  1. Pingback: NOVEMBER GOAL & CHECK-IN | CFGF, the blog

Leave a Reply

