FAVORITE PITTSBURGH BREWERIES

As much as I love to travel and visit new breweries, I have a few tried and true favorites around home that rarely let me down. Here’s a quick hit list of my favorite breweries in Pittsburgh (or close enough to count).

East End Brewing

East Liberty, Pittsburgh

Favorite Beer: Bigger Hop, Imperial/Double IPA

East End was the first brewery I ever visited. Like some of the best ones out there, this place is a little bar in the front of a warehouse off a tiny back alleyway. With at least 10 beers on tap every day, I’m always guaranteed to leave with something I like. There are a few year round brews and always some interesting seasonals, ranging from light to dark and sure to please anyone’s taste. For good reason, it’s my go-to. (Plus, it’s basically in my back yard – check!)

EEB is currently samples and growlers only, but it’s been rumored that they’re acquiring a brew pub license to start selling pints. This would be AWESOME! Last time I was there the application was actually hanging on the door. Dreams could possibly come true!

Copper Kettle Brewing CompanyHough’s

Greenfield, Pittsburgh

Favorite Beer: Cuckoo Clock of Doom, Imperial/Double IPA

 IMG_1947

Copper Kettle is a little different from the other places in this list. It’s a “brew-on-premises shop” where you pick a beer from their HUGE list of recipes to make yourself. They do a really awesome job. The brew shop is connected to Hough’s taproom. So during the phases of brewing where you have to wait, you can just pop up to the bar and keep on drinking until they grab you for the next step. Hough’s also offers a few of the CKB beers as part of their massive draft list. Can’t beat it.

For Valentine’s Day, CFBF and I brewed the Cuckoo Clock of Doom, an Imperial/Double IPA. You can create your own labels for any beer that you brew, so we appropriately named it Gremily. One batch of beer makes A LOT. We are STILL working our way through this stuff. So good though. We’re brew masters.

Full Pint Brewing

North Versailles, PA

Favorite Beer: Rye Rebellion, Imperial/Double Stout

Full Pint is a little bit of a hike outside of the city, but worth it. Trust me. Super good beers that you can order by the glass or the growler. Again, sort of just a little bar in a warehouse hidden off the main road, but I’m telling you, most of the best ones are. The only time I visited, we skipped out on the food, but this menu looks awesome. I will be back, and soon. Beer bread pizza and a meat and cheese board please.

The Brew Gentlemen

Braddock, PA

Favorite Beer: White Sky, Chai Spiced American Pale Wheat Ale

I visited Brew Gentlemen shortly after the opened and was really impressed. Beers are good, the building is REALLY cool inside, and the bartenders were great. They offer flights, which is almost always my favorite way to try out a new place. So I was sold. I’m always interested in the unusual experimental flavors too, so Kitchen Sink, Southern BBQ, and Kiwi Belgian IPA sound too cool to not try.

Grist House Brewing

Millvale, PA

Favorite Beer: Camp Slap Red, American Amber/Red Ale

Grist House is another Pittsburgh brewery that offers flights, glasses, and growler fills. With a really nice deck, dogs running in and out, and a food truck in the parking lot, it’s the perfect way to spend a Summer afternoon. You can trust me, I’ve done it.

I want to hear from you! Do you disagree with my favorites? Any good ones I missed?

CHEERS!

2 thoughts on “FAVORITE PITTSBURGH BREWERIES

  1. Pingback: BREWERY VISIT: MILKMAN BREWING | CFGF, the blog

Leave a Reply

