OCTOBER GOAL

And now it’s time to talk October. What am I up to this month? Are you dying to know? Here it is, my new monthly goal: consistent work on olympic lifts. That is, snatch and clean & jerk specifically.

IMG_2811

On one hand, with a CFBF who is all about his FatStrong Club (my affectionate name for his Olympic weightlifting class), it could be surprising that I waited this long to jump on the bandwagon.

On the other hand, why would I want to drag myself to open gym hours every Sunday morning when my current routine of hanging out in my pajamas eating something chocolate for breakfast has been going so well?

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 7.27.27 PM

(Psst – this recipe for protein muffins is super easy and not bad for a healthy breakfast, especially straight out of the oven.)

I have my reasons. This is how I ended up here for the month:

  • It’s pretty unexpected for me. I love Crossfit, really do. But I’m not die-hard. I’m not in the Oly club. Of course, I find a lot of fun in lifting heavy things, but it’s still probably not what I’m expected to want to focus on for a month at a time.
  • These monthly goals have become a LOT more important to me than I would have guessed. Hellooooo Internet accountability! So I wanted to think a little outside the box for this one to keep it interesting. Obviously a good goal would have been stick with the difficult and exhausting marathon training plan you’re about to begin, but that’s too predictable for my taste.
  • After completely botching my snatches during a Crossfit class a couple weeks ago, HATED the feeling that I had lost some of my ability because it had been so long since I practiced them. I know some consistency here will make a huge impact for me.
  • And finally, there should be some measurable results! That’s supposed to be a characteristic of good goal setting, right? I have a feeling that if I can actually get my butt to the gym and work on my snatches and clean & jerks every week for four weeks, I’ll have some lovely looking PRs by the time November rolls around.

C&J

And so that’s that! Of course, marathon training is priority #1. I’ll listen to my body and take my rest days when I need to. Hey, even if I completely crash and burn with this month’s goal, it’s still something to write about! You can look forward to that.

Let’s chat! Any advice? Any times you’ve set goals that are pretty outside of your comfort zone? How often do you think I’ll get to the gym after all the 35kg bars are taken and use it as a lame excuse? 😉

7 thoughts on “OCTOBER GOAL

  1. Pingback: A WEEK OF WORKOUTS | CFGF, the blog

  2. Pingback: A WEEK OF WORKOUTS | CFGF, the blog

  3. Pingback: A WEEK OF WORKOUTS | CFGF, the blog

  4. Pingback: A WEEK OF WORKOUTS | CFGF, the blog

  5. Pingback: OCTOBER GOAL CHECK-IN | CFGF, the blog

  6. Pingback: NOVEMBER GOAL & CHECK-IN | CFGF, the blog

Leave a Reply

