2014 GREAT RACE 10K

I was SO EXCITED to be able to run the Great Race this year. It’s one of my favorite races in Pittsburgh, and I missed it a couple years in a row. But 2014 I was BACK. And I meant business.

I hadn’t run a 10K since the 2011 Great Race, so a huge PR was in the works. Obviously, I’m a big fan of those.

It was a GORGEOUS morning for a race (albeit a little warm, but this girl does not complain about the sunshine). Let’s talk hits and misses.

HITS

  • The course is point to point. It starts in Frick Park in Squirrel Hill and travels through Oakland, into downtown, and ends at Point State Park. This means you go downhill quite a bit more than you go uphill. Win!
  • Weather = on point! Sunny mornings forever please!!!
  • I just felt GOOD. My legs were ready to run. I fell into a comfortable pace from the beginning. Just so happened to be close to 7 minute miles. BINGO!
  • HUGE turnout. I know, I know – not what you want if you’re trying to win or go really fast because it’s too crowded and more competitive and yada yada. But in my mind it makes it fun. The excitement of a big crowd on the course and cheering along the sides makes it so much more enjoyable for me.
  • Cinnamon raisin French toast at the expo. Did anybody else eat that? SO GOOD, right?

MISSES

  • It’s not 100% downhill – there are a couple serious climbs; one right at the beginning and one around mile 5. Didn’t ruin the race for me though, and I’ve been there.
  • My t-shirt is enormous. CFBF calls it a poncho. It would be good for parachuting.

The results are in, and I’m a happy camper runner. Killed it. AND an added bonus: I also accomplished my second New Years resolution during the race. The 10K put me at 1003 miles so far in 2014. Check and check.

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 8.36.42 PM

Now for the celebrations! Work hard, play hard, people. After the race, Sangam, Jeff and I had some time to kill before CFBF was done with his FatStrong club and could meet us for brunch. First stop – coffee!

IMG_2791

Then it was off to Franktuary for Sunday brunch. It was delish. After my coffee, I was ready for a beer. Beer and running just go hand in hand in my world. I proudly call myself a member of Team Beer, after all. Went with the Lavery Ulster Breakfast Stout and it was EXCELLENT (been meaning to get to that brewery too – so close!). Let me tell you, post-race empty stomach + coffee + beer means I was chatty. Like, I could NOT stop talking.

Food came next. We started with a handful of chocolate donut holes to share. Yum. But really, how can you go wrong with donuts? Then I had the waffle breakfast sandwich. OMFGSOGOOD. CFBF could have predicted I would order this without even reading the menu. I am a sucker for breakfast sandwiches. All. The. Time. (Had a Monte Cristo sandwich at Six Penn once that was awesome, but I think it’s off the menu now, and the “Sammich” at Marty’s Market is another good one.) This guy is HIGH on the list. Did not disappoint. You should try it.

Franktuary

And that’s my perfect Sunday. Even watching my fantasy team BLOW IT couldn’t ruin the day for me. Please, let’s not use the blog comments for smack talk, friends.

Let’s talk: any other awesome 10K races I should run? I think the distance is totally underrated. Also, and more importantly, best breakfast sandwiches? Please, I’m an addict.

3 thoughts on “2014 GREAT RACE 10K

  1. I want to start a breakfast sandwich restaurant… we’ll call it “Put an Egg On It”.

    My Great Race shirt from last year is also a poncho. SO PROUD of your time, you killed it, GF. Not that there was any doubt in my mind that you would 🙂 xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

