MY FIRST CROSSFIT 5K GONE BAD

Oh boy, was it rough. Everything I thought it would be plus about 10 degrees hotter.

To start, a 5K Gone Bad is a 5K run with a handful of Crossfit workouts thrown in the mix. It’s one of those Saturday morning workouts that just kicks your ass, but makes you feel damn good once you’ve done it.

Crossfit Shadyside put on the 5K Gone Bad instead of the regularly scheduled Saturday morning classes last week. And since I’m not currently using my Saturday mornings exclusively for marathon training runs, I was really excited to be able to do it this time around.

When I got to the gym, there was already a seriously big turnout. While that makes it crazy and chaotic, it’s also what makes it fun. All of those people are trudging through the same hell-on-earth workout as you. The room was full of barbells. Barbells everywhere! And boxes, kettlebells, medicine balls, jump ropes. It was a production.

IMG_2636

So here’s how it went.

I opted to wait for the second wave to start, so give myself some time to warm up and get set up and make sure I had all the equipment I needed ready to go. There isn’t enough equipment or space for everybody to go at once, so we had to break it up.

Then it was 3-2-1 GO through THIS BEAST.

  • WOD 1:
  • 12-9-6
    • Power cleans, 135/95#
    • HSPU
  • 800m run
  • WOD 2:
  • 30-20-10
    • DUs
    • Sit ups
  • 800m run
  • WOD 3:
  • 3 rounds
    • 15 HR push ups
    • 10 TTB
  • 800m run
  • WOD 4:
  • 8-6-4-2
    • Power snatch, 95/65#
    • Wallballs, 20/14#
  • 800m run
  • WOD 5:
  • 3 rounds
    • 5 burpee box jumps
    • 10 pull-ups
  • 800m run
  • WOD 6:
    • 60 kbs, 53/35#
  • 800m run
  • I scaled the cleans to 65#, did the HSPU piked from a box, HR pushups from my knees, and snatches to 45#. 

The hardest WODs for me were the first and fourth. Barbell movements are not my best, so even with lighter bars for both of them, they were TOUGH! HSPU and wall balls are no joke either. The rest of the movements I got through without issues. Even the runs (which is where I usually feel my best) were TERRIBLE in the heat. KILLER. I was feeling good about cranking out unassisted pull-ups too! Until I was ready to do the last round and realized I had ripped the skin on my hand on the last one. GAHH! So I just skipped the last 10 pull-ups and went out for the run. Came back in, taped up, and finished the workout a sweaty and bloody mess.

In total, it took me 59:15, but that’s including a couple minutes to rinse off and tape up my hand. So I’m calling it safely under an hour, albeit a little unfulfilled with those GD pull-ups. 

Would I do it again? Absolutely. You know me; I live for those tortuous workouts. It was a great Saturday morning.

So tell me, do you have any crazy brutal marathon workout stories?

Also, am I crazy?

3 thoughts on “MY FIRST CROSSFIT 5K GONE BAD

  1. This sounds like an awesome workout!!! I am going to share it with my CF coach to see if we can do something similar. He’s not the biggest fan of running though unfortunately. Maybe I will have to do it on my own one day…or talk the husband into doing it with me…he just started CF though and would probably kill me ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

